A Cinch, a Journal, and Wine Chocolates.

For Christmas, I got a Cinch! Therefore I have been occupied with making books and trying to design the pages. It is seriously more time consuming than I thought!

I have done two books, both are a work-in-progress. Click on images to enlarge.

I call my first book an “I Love You” book because the theme is Love/Valentine. These are a few of the pages I have worked on so far that are more developed. I have about 7 or so more pages to go. I mainly wanted this book to be about memories. I want to be able to add photos and write down memories that are precious in the relationship. So far each page has some kind of pocket so I can add memorabilia.

Love BookDSCN1847 DSCN1848
Love Book 1

Love Book 2

Love Book 3

Love Book 4

My second book is more of a personal journal. I decided that I wanted to create a journal that was similar to Smash journals where I could write and put random things that come to me for later references, such as craft ideas and quotes. I used various designer paper, blank paper, and lined paper (printed a template on cardstock). The first two images are of the front and back of the book.

I have decided to take my name off the front of the book and put a quote there instead. Hopefully having the quote in front of the book will inspire me to be more creative!

Journal     Journal 4Journal 2Journal 3 

The Cinch is pretty easy to use. It works great, but the one issue I have is that when I close the binding wires, they don’t come out round. They are more of  oval-ish circles with a dent in each ring, similar to this image here. I don’t know if it is me doing something wrong or if it is just how it is, but being a perfectionist it does bother me a bit. However, it does not affect the functionality of the book. I also noticed the machine does not close the wires together enough for sheets to not fall out of the rings (at least to me it does). Therefore, even after closing them, I have to manually push them closer together to ensure the sheets remain in place. Aside from that, the machine works well.

I also wanted to show a mini project I did for my mom. She wanted to make an interactive card that could hold those small chocolates that are shaped like wine bottles and contain 5% alcohol in them.

Here is what I came up with. You just pull out the slip of paper to see the sentiment, and behind it I’ve attached a box that can hold one of those wine bottle chocolates. The front looks like a tall gift bag, doesn’t it?! I thought it was so cute. It measures about 3″ x 1″ so it is pretty small.

Bag 1 Bag 2 Bag 3 Bag 4 Bag 6 Bag 5 

I’m sorry I’ve been away for these past few weeks. Even being on break, I don’t have time to write, and sadly school is about to resume again! But at least I’m not being lazy. I swear I have been preoccupied with creating things and thinking of things I want to do. I’ve begun to dabble a bit in digital crafting, specifically making printables. It’s a lot of work, but fun! Instead of buying all those fancy Smash tags and papers for my book/journal, I decided to save money by designing my own tags, cards, etc. Once I finish a good amount, I’ll post them up for you guys to use!

Get to crafting!

Hally

Leave a Reply

