Valentine, Halloween, & Christmas

Hey, guys!

I made a few cards that I wanted to show.

Two friends of mine and I got together to make Christmas cards for a church sale. This put me in a rather Christmas-y mood, so I decided to make some early Christmas cards on my own time. I really like the snowflakes card since I was able to use some pearls and a rhinestone (rare occurrence for me)! The panda and the kitten cards showcase the new Spellbinders dies I got on clearance at Michael’s ($10!). I got the panda stamp set from 7 KIDS, an awesome local craft store. The houses in the reindeer card are from a stencil by Claudine Helmuth. The rest of the stamps were bought at Michael’s a year or two ago.

Christmas Snowflak Card Christmas Snowflak Crop  Christmas cardKitty Xmas cardPanda Xmas cardReindeer Xmas card

Because Halloween was approaching, I decided to make myself use the Halloween stamps I got last year but never really used. I just love the spiderwebs! I chose to keep these cards simple and more focused on the stamps.

Halloween 2 Halloween 3 Halloween

Also, I recently went to Goodwill and found a Fiskars circle border punch (Hearts of Hearts). I’ve never seen one before so I was excited to go home and try it. Well, it was frustrating to use! I feel the punch does not work as advertised. It works for only 4″ and 6″ circles, and like their other punches, you align the punched out image on the side to ensure that the next punch is correct. I did exactly that, and when I took it out, the first and last punched section don’t align! I even noticed that even as I punched out each section, the areas where the two meet were misaligned. However, because that happened between each section the mistake doesn’t look obvious. The most apparent thing is the area at the end of your last punch.

Instead of just throwing away these circles, I decided to trim off the bad part and work with the part that looked good. This is my result. I must say that I really liked how it turned out. And I got to use rhinestones! I used a swirly stamp with Versamark on the red cardstock to add a little pizzazz since it looked too plain. I also love how the heart rhinestone fit perfectly with the sentiment!

Because the card turned out so cute, I decided to keep the punch and just do more cards like these.

Valentine Card 2 Valentine Card 3

Thanks for reading!

-Hally

2 responses to “Valentine, Halloween, & Christmas

Leave a Reply

