Fun with 4th of July Cards

School has resumed again and so far my classes seem okay (not too painful!). I’m not eager for the upcoming workload, but at least I now have something to do besides lazying around all summer. Plus, my crafting friend Nelly is going to the same university as me, so it’ll be more fun for me/us this year!

Anyway, we finally finished our 4th of July card! I know, we’re super late on that…but it’s done at last!!

There is no challenge for this one since we were behind on it, so just enjoy! As always, please feel free to comment on them. We appreciate feedback!

Nelly’s:

Nelly's July 4        Nelly's July 4 2

Mine:

Happy 4th of July 3 Happy 4th of July

For some reason, my cards always end up being very clean and simple (at least compared to Nelly’s). I’m always trying to make it more…active and colorful, and I guess “messier,” but I just can’t make myself do it. I’m horrible at layering and adding embellishments because my brain just doesn’t work that way. CAS is always in the forefront of my thoughts when I am designing a card. It’s after I finish my card that my brain starts thinking “Oh, I should have done this, added this, maybe change this, etc.” I really need to work on it…

Here are also some other cards I did recently using some new stencils I got at Joann. This is a stencil by Claudine Hellmuth Studio called Our Town. CAS? I think so, or at least very simple in style.

House Love 3 House Love 2

This one is The Crafter’s Workshop Mini Harlequin stencil. I used my new Tsukineko sponge daubers to stencil the design and create an almost color transition with three of my distress ink pads. I used Dusty Concord, Peacock Feathers, and Fired Brick. CAS? Yep, to me it is.

Harlequinn Design      Harlequinn Design 2

Got any tips for me on how to push my CAS style to something more messy? Let me know!

Thanks for reading!

Hally

7 responses to “Fun with 4th of July Cards

  1. I think they both look wonderful Hally! I don’t think there’s anything wrong with going simple. You just have a different approach to card making. You gotta work what you’re good at, you know? Simple and clean, but still nifty!

      • Thanks guys! Maybe that’s what I need to do. Focus more on what I’m good at instead of trying to focus on what others do and how I wish I could do what they do. Perhaps that is why I am having such a block right now.

      • When I have a block about crafting… or really almost anything sometimes I just have to sit down and start doing it to really get into what I am doing.

        If there is a technique that you really like from someone see if they have a class or some tutorials or videos ect.

        I have taken a few online classes that have more me feel more confidant about experimenting. I do still have some hesitation about it though because supplies can be expensive.

  2. What about adding your clean and simple designs to some of the backgrounds that you made with your dylusion ink sprays. I bet they would look really nice together. 🙂

Leave a Reply

