Fun with Tags

Hey!

I just wanted to post up some tags I played with this past week. I recently bought some Heidi Swapp (H.S.) stencils from Michael’s and couldn’t wait to try them out.

This one is a tag that I had posted in a previous post. Here, I used H.S.’s chevron stencil. I used the Versamark pen to color in the open areas and then embossed them with clear embossing powder. I then used various distress ink pads (Peacock feathers, Dusty Concord, and Mowed Lawn, I believe) and blended them in different spots on the tag. In the areas where there are clear embossing powder, the color that I had created on the tag originally was preserved. I just love the cool rainbow effect.

Tag Chevron Main Tag Chevron closeup 2

This next tag was purely intuition. I used H.S’s  honeycomb stencil with the Versamark pen and embossed with kaleidoscope embossing powder. I then stamped a flower stamp randomly and embossed different layers of the flowers with different embossing powders.  I believe I used Recollection’s Detail Gold, Clear, Blue Blaze, and Petal embossing powders.

For the words, I used a Sakura white glaze pen (at a friend’s recommendation) and OMG, I loved the results!! Sakura’s glaze pens have become my new favorite way for writing in my projects. If you cannot find a good white gel pen, I highly recommend buying the white glaze pen. It may come out a bit invisible at first, but after a minute of waiting, the words do show up. It says on the label to wait at least 10 minutes for the liquid to solidify.

Tag Flower

Tag Flower Closeup

Tag Flower Closeup 2

I used the lattice stencil for this tag. I really love how it came out, but it has been difficult deciding on what to add onto it. I just love the effect with the various embossed spots and overall mosaic-like look. I don’t want to cover any of it up! In this one, I used various embossing powders in random spots and then went back and covered them all with a layer of clear embossing. This was purely a precaution since I didn’t know how the other powders would turn out if I added on some extra colors on the tag. I was afraid some of the embossed areas wouldn’t be able to resist the colors.

Tag MosaicTag Mosaic CloseupTag Mosaic Closeup 2

This last tag is my favorite. I recently bought a set of distress stains and first experimented with them on this tag. I was inspired by a friend to do a resist technique. I used Peacock Feathers Distress ink pad, stamped a text stamp in black, stamped a few stamps in Versamark and clear embossed and then used Chipped Sapphire distress stain to color the tag. I then used the white glaze pen for my quote.

Tag Love Story

Tag Love Story Closeup

Well, hoped you liked my tags! If there are any questions please comment.

Thanks for reading.

-Hally

Leave a Reply

