Dylusion Ink Spray Fun Continues!

So I’ve discovered something super exciting (to me at least) with the Dylusions Ink Sprays!

A few days ago, I found a book in my storage box that I thought would make a great art journal. The paper is sturdy and is not too large or too small. I decided that I would start making backgrounds on a few pages and later add more stuff to them. After I did a page, I realized that the book had been printed and bounded in Italy (I felt like I had just devalued the book, but at least my art journal isn’t any ordinary journal LOL).

Anyway, I sprayed each page with several colors.

DSCN1136 DSCN1138 DSCN1141

They were taking a while to dry, even with my heat tool, so I decided to make some backgrounds on some tags. While the page was still wet, I took a tag and placed it directly on the page. I pressed firmly to make sure the ink would come into contact with the entire tag. When I picked it up, I was astounded. The effect I had achieved was so cool!

Because some parts on the paper were already dry, the color of the tag showed through. Combined with the still wet parts, a sort of cosmic effect/look or water foam/spray was achieved. Isn’t that just awesome?! (Click on images to enlarge)

DSCN1156 DSCN1151 DSCN1149 DSCN1145 DSCN1142

This is a great way to recycle that excess ink and create amazing background/designs on tags or cards. I love the backgrounds so much, I’m having a hard time trying to decorate a tag. LOL

I really wished I had more tags so I could make a bunch more of these. These tags I got at Big Lots for 50 cents – pack of 15 white, large tags (you can’t find that kind of deal anywhere! I’ve checked). The brand was “The Paper Company Crafts and Creativity” which is owned by ANW Crestwood. Unfortunately, I could not find them anymore at the Big Lots I went to. It has been several months since I last saw them, so it is doubtful I can find them in other Big Lots near me. So disappointing! I tried finding them online and researching the company and brand, but I found nothing.

The tags are premium quality and react well with the ink spray. I feel they’re similar to the tags Tim Holtz usually uses in his demonstration (though I’ve never used his tags before) because they curl up when wet, but straighten up once dry. I feel the closest I can get is probably The Paper Studio large tags sold at Hobby Lobby for $1.99. Those tags are a bit smaller however. I haven’t had a chance to play with them, so I don’t know how well they will react with ink sprays. I’ll let you guys know once I get my hands on some.

Anyway, I just wanted to share this cool technique I discovered and hope you guys have fun trying it out!

Thanks for reading!

-Hally

One response to “Dylusion Ink Spray Fun Continues!

  1. Pingback: Fun with Tags | hnPaperEnchantments

Leave a Reply

