Foam Ink Pad Storage

I finally got down to making my own foam ink pad storage. It took me about five hours to finish the entire thing; however, I haven’t done the decorating yet. There were a lot of minor errors along the way that, in the end, made it a bit wonky in some places. Luckily, it is still workable.

Ink Pad Storage   SAM_0409

The four slots are approx. 3.25″ long and 4″ deep. The last column (on the very right) is 3.5″ long. When I put my distress ink pads in the 3.25″ slots, I found that it was difficult to pull out. To solve this issue, I got some page tabs and stuck one on the bottom of each pad, with some of it hanging out. There was still a bit of sticky areas on the tab showing so I wrote down the names of the ink pads on white cardstock, and stuck them on it, as seen below. It works perfectly and is eye-catching!

SAM_0415

For the smaller bottom drawer, I stored my long ink pads, which fit perfectly. However, there is no moving room so the only way to get them out is to flip the drawer upside down so they fall out. For the other, I just stored miscellaneous things, such as clear blocks and mini ink pads.

SAM_0416   SAM_0417

If you plan on making your own, follow these tips:

  1. Account for the weight of the ink pads. I don’t have that many pads, but after putting them up, the foam started to sink in some places, such as the bottom right where the drawers are. The sinking you see was probably caused by a bit of inaccurate measurements and the hot glue not properly supporting the connecting points. If you have everything glued properly in the right places, it should work out.
  2. Unless you’re an experienced architect, make sure to leave some room for the drawers to move – bit of room at the top and on the sides. I did not leave enough “breathing” room for both my drawers so they do have a bit of trouble sliding in and out. They rub against each other and I have to lift up the bottom shelf to push the drawers all the way in.
  3. If you have glue that is strong and permanent and doesn’t dry quickly, use that instead of hot glue. Hot glue works fine, but it cools down way too quickly. Plus, hot glue doesn’t leave much room for placement mistakes.

Overall, it was fun doing. I’m trying to come up with other storage ideas to make with my leftover foam board. Perhaps a ribbon storage is in order!

Click here to see a previous post containing videos and other information I found on getting started on making your own foam storage:

Thanks for reading!

-Hally

Leave a Reply

