Autodesk Sketchbook Express

I recently ordered a Wacom Bamboo Create Tablet because I really wanted to experiment with making digital art. This desire began when I first joined the deviantArt community and saw the digital artwork that artists around the world have done. Since then, I’ve been very curious about learning how to make art on programs like Photoshop or Gimp. For those of you who don’t know, Gimp is a FREE program that you can download from the internet and it has features similar to Photoshop but isn’t as fancy. Perfect for those on a limited income (like myself).

Before, I usually sketched out my work, scanned it onto my laptop, and then colored it using Gimp (I didn’t have Photoshop). The results were all right, but I knew I could do a lot better…with the right software and equipment! That’s when I started doing research on drawing tablets and finally after a few years of pining for one, ordered the Bamboo Create!

Now that I have my tablet, which came with Photoshop Elements 9, Autodesk Sketchbook Express, and Corel Painter Essentials 4, I can practice until I can create amazing artwork like those dA artists!

For the past few days, I’ve been trying to get used to drawing with the pen and familiarizing myself with all the programs. So far, my favorite program is Autodesk Sketchbook Express. The format is easy to work with and it isn’t as complicated as Photoshop or Gimp. If you love to sketch or doodle, this is the program for you! Once I get used to this, I’ll probably get the full version (Sketchbook Pro) which is approx. $59. My second favorite is Corel Painter. It is similar to Sketchbook but has more features. It’s also pretty easy to work with. I am still trying to get used to Photoshop. I find it the most difficult to play around with, most likely because it is more advanced than the other two programs. Luckily, I have a friend who is familiar with it and can show me around.

Anyway, here is a girl I drew on Sketchbook Express. I believe it took me about an hour. I love the heart! Yes, it had to be PURPLE!!!

Girl

I plan on making a lot more digital art from now on and will be posting the ones I like up on here, so keep checking back!

Thanks for reading!

-Hally

Leave a Reply

