Contact Paper

I recently stumbled upon a roll of contact paper at Big Lots for only $2! For those of you who don’t know what contact paper is, it is simply a thin paper with adhesive on one side and a pattern on the other. It is also referred to as shelf-lining. It is typically used to protect the inside of drawers and cabinets. Contact paper comes in a variety of patterns like wood and flowers and also different colors. There’s also chalkboard contact paper! How fun does that sound?! I bought white and clear so I could draw on them and use them for my crafting.

I have seen many uses for contact paper other than shelf-lining. For example, I’ve seen it used as a stencil or a substitute for vinyl, which is a type of durable plastic. Vinyl is currently too expensive for me to venture into. However, it’s definitely popular in the crafting world. I’ve mostly seen crafters use vinyl to decorate their walls, such as wall lettering, but its uses are boundless.

Sadly, I haven’t found much information on using contact paper with the Cricut machine. I’m interested in its ability to substitute vinyl. I’m not how or for what, but I’m willing to experiment with its potential. My first attempt is most likely going to be a stencil. It’s a straightforward idea and shouldn’t get too complicated. I’m hoping to use my Cricut machine to cut out a stencil, then I’m going to stick the contact paper on my wall, and paint over it and see what I get. I’ll post the results up after I get to conduct my experiment.

After that, I’m going to see how I can use the other qualities of the contact paper to my advantage. Perhaps I can stamp on the contact paper and turn it into a sticker!  It’s going to be so exciting to see what I can do with contact paper. I can’t wait!

If you have any ideas on what I can use it for, or what you’d like for me to try out, let me know!

Thanks for reading.

-Hally

Leave a Reply

