Glow Powder & Flocking Powder

So, I recently purchased a Glow-in-the-Dark powder by Recollections at Michael’s. I was extremely excited to test it out and see if it actually works.

Here is the glow powder I bought (originally $5.99, but with a 50% off coupon it cost me $3.30)

  

For my first attempt, I used this stamp:

Here is an image of the glue pad I used and what it looks like after I stamped the image on paper and poured the powder over it (click on image to enlarge):

It helped to hold the image to a light source for a few seconds and then putting it in darkness. You can clearly see the image glow in the dark! However, it does not last very long. I estimated it works for about 3-6 seconds before it dims. I was able to take a picture of it when it was still glowing. It isn’t the best picture, but you can see a hint of the image. Click on the image to see it enlarged.

Unfortunately, the powder did not stay on the paper. I had hoped it would stay in place when I touched it, but it came off. This might have been because the glue pad I used was already a bit dry since I haven’t used it in a while. As such, I decided to refresh my glue pad with new glue and try it again. Here is the rubber stamp I used and what it looks like after I added the glow powder. I darkened an image of the powdered image so you can see it in more detail.

So I left the image alone for about half an hour and then tried to touch a part of it to see if it came off easily. Sadly, it did. Perhaps the glue was not meant for this kind of powder or the glue was still not fresh enough. Perhaps I didn’t give it enough time to settle. However, I did notice that some of the powder particles clung to the image, so there is hope yet! I need to research further for a solution to it.

After that, I decided to experiment with my flocking powder. Flocking powder is similar to glitter, except instead of making the image sparkly, it leaves a somewhat felt-like, fuzzy, furry-ish texture. The process is the same as the glow powder, I used the glue pad, stamped my image on paper, and then added flocking powder.

  

The flocking powder did not stick to the paper either. It rubbed off slightly when I touched it. HOWEVER, I have tried flocking powder once before, and I remember I had to leave it alone for at least a day before it stuck quite firmly to the paper. Therefore, I will continue to wait this out and see if both my powders will eventually stay in place.

Thanks for reading!

-Hally

One response to “Glow Powder & Flocking Powder

Leave a Reply

