Blocking Myself

It really annoys me when I block myself. I start to feel incredibly lazy, and I hate being lazy. When I want to do something purely fun or creative, I start thinking to myself, “Do you really want to spend your limited amount of free time on this?” “It looks like a lot of hassle/work,” and “You have more important things to do, like homework and art projects.” Essentially, I feel like I just don’t have enough time to do something not school-based since it isn’t truly productive in comparison to school work. I’m the type of person who can’t help but put everything fun aside until I finish what is required of me. However, when I do have some free time, I’m too afraid to even start anything because I know more projects and assignments are coming and I need to make sure I have enough time to do them. I always try to manage my time carefully, which puts me in this never-ending cycle of “only do school stuff.” It doesn’t end even when I have days or weeks of free time because the laziness kicks in, which comes from being so used to having to do something that when there is free time all I want to do is wait for the next assignment.

But I would love to be able to get myself out of this funk. The hard part is figuring out how. The most obvious answer is to make myself do fun things. I’ve tried this technique before and it sometimes work, but the laziness overpowers me sometimes. I think the best way is to start small. Therefore, I plan to do mini projects instead of undertake projects that feel time-consuming. For example, instead of trying to make several greeting cards in one sitting, I will focus on doing only one card. Also, doing it in numbers will help. It’s always easier doing things when others are doing it with you.

Hopefully, I can unblock myself and start spending some quality time doing my creative hobbies.

-Hally

2 responses to “Blocking Myself

  1. I am the same way when it comes to time management. I have this big calendar on my wall with all my due dates, appointments, and important things I need to be doing. To get myself out of the funk, I look for my random and not so often free days and plan something fun with a friend. Go shopping, go get more art supplies, see a movie. My friends and I have started this tradition of doing Free Pie Wednesdays at Village Inn. I think Traditions can really help with laziness because it gives you a reason to go out and do something to keep the tradition alive! Have fun!

Leave a Reply

