Fashionable Hotaru

I was looking through an old sketchbook of mine and I stumbled upon some drawings of Hotaru (a.k.a Sailor Saturn) that I did back in 2009. After taking a few minutes to look at them, I am reminded of how much I had enjoyed designing dresses. Back then, I would draw tons of different styled clothing, especially dresses. It’s a curious thing that I am not that interested in fashion design. Perhaps it was the design aspect I enjoyed most, and not the fashion part.

The images remind me of a pageant show, where each girl would have to wear different things, from ball gowns to swimsuits. Maybe I actually was watching a pageant show when I drew these. Then again, the more I think about it the more I feel that these were for a contest for an online club I was a part of on deviantArt where pageant-like contests were a common occurrence.

Ah, this does bring back a lot of memories.

On a semi-related note, I realize once again the importance of sketchbooks. They are a source of inspiration, but also serve as a reminder of where we originated from and how far we’ve come. I really need to start carrying one on me at all times.

Hope you enjoy looking at these as much as I did!

– Hally

Leave a Reply

